HomePolice and Public SafetyDivisions and Bureaus

Divisions and Bureaus

Office of the Chief of Police

The Office of the Chief of Police consists of : Office of Professional Standards, Training Section, Recruitment Unit, Accreditation Unit, and Administration Support. For more information, call (843) 740-2831 or email Whitney Lawrence.

The Office of Professional Standards investigates complaints of alleged misconduct against the department’s sworn officers and civilian members and, based upon departmental findings, to make fair, prompt and impartial disposition of all concerns. For more information, please call (843) 740-2838 or email Major Michael W. Aiken.
The Accreditation Unit ensures the department’s compliance with national standards for law enforcement agencies through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (C.A.L.E.A.) and South Carolina Law Enforcement Accreditation (S.C.L.E.A).  The department received its initial national accreditation March 17, 2007.  For more information, please call (843) 666-3735 or email Sergeant Lane Beaudoin.
The Training Section is responsible for the training needs of the department. The unit addresses the needs of the department by acquiring the proper instruction and providing Annual In-service Mandatory (A.I.M.) training. The unit additionally identifies training for the career paths of the officers and aligns those training needs with the officer.  The Training Section also oversees the department’s Reserve Officers program.  For more information, please call (843) 300-7186 or email Lt. Joe Niemiec.

Administrative Services

The Administrative Services Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Karen Cordray, consists of the Support Services Bureau, Information Services Bureau, Financial Services Unit, Police Technology Unit, Records Unit, Duty Officer Unit, Holding Facility Unit, Transport Unit, and Cops Athletic Program (CAP).  The Division is responsible for the accommodation of the needs of the Police Department concerning vehicles and supplies, budget activities, management and distribution of uniforms and non-technological personal equipment; the implementation of new technologies to enhance the department’s ability to carry out its mission; and the fostering of relationships with youth through the department’s Cops Athletic Program. For more information, call (843) 740-2836.

The Administrative Services Division also includes the Neighborhood Resource Officer’s Unit, Crime Prevention Unit.

Uniform Patrol Division

The Uniform Patrol Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Scott Perry, oversees the day-to-day activities of the department’s largest contingent of officers. The Uniform Patrol Division consists of three Patrol Bureaus (South, Central and North). Through these Bureaus, the department provides basic patrol services, traffic safety, crime prevention, education, and other community initiatives.

The Uniform Patrol Division also includes the Animal Control Unit.

For more information, call (843) 740-2849 or email Deputy Chief Scott PerryMajor Al Kuetchler(South), Captain Sid Lewis (Central), or Captain Justin Holt (North).

Investigations Division

The Investigations Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Angela Johnson, is responsible for the identification and follow up of crimes, crime analysis, collection and preservation of evidence, school security, neighborhood relations, and victim advocacy.  The Detective Bureau is divided into two sections:  Investigative Section and Investigative Support Section.  The Investigative Section includes the following units:  Fraud and Forgery; Persons Crime; Special Victims; and Property Crime.  The section also supervises officers assigned to the A.T.F. Task Force, F.B.I Violent Crimes Task Force, and Secret Service Task Force.  The Investigative Support Sections includes the following units:  Forensics, Property and Evidence, and Crime Analysis.

The Special Investigative Bureau includes the following unit:  School Resource Officers and Police Explorers program.

For more information, call (843) 740-2861 or email Deputy Chief Angela Johnson, Major Kevin Versetti (Detective Bureau), or Captain Andrew Glover (Special Investigative Bureau).

Special Operations Division

The Special Operations Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Scott Perry and Deputy Chief Angela Johnson, is responsible for the identifying, investigating, and enforcing an array of crimes, including bike patrol, traffic enforcement, dignitary protection, major accident investigations, and organized crimes such as:  narcotics, vice and drug money laundering.  The Division is divided into two bureaus; the Special Enforcement Bureau and the Street Crimes Bureau.

The Special Enforcement Bureau consists of the Field Operations Section, which includes the Traffic Unit, Harbor Patrol Unit, and K-9 Unit.

The Street Crimes Bureau consists of the Street Operations Section, which includes the Intelligence Led Policing Unit, and the Narcotics Unit.

For more information, call (843) 740-2845 or email Deputy Chief Scott PerryCaptain Rick Keys (Security and Special Projects Bureau), Major James Hill (Street Crimes Bureau).