Home / Visitors / Local and State Government

Local and State Government

North Charleston is a mayor/council form of government with a mayor and ten councilmembers elected from single-member districts for four-year terms by the City's citizens.

As of November 2011, the Mayor of North Charleston is Keith Summey and the members of the North Charleston City Council are Ed Astle, Ron Brinson, Michael Brown, Sam Hart, Bobby Jameson, Rhonda Jerome, Bob King, Todd Olds, Dwight Stigler, and Dorothy Williams.

The City of North Charleston is incorporated in Berkeley, Dorchester, and Charleston counties.  Administrative heads of each county are Dan Davis, Jason Ward, and Kurt Taylor, respectively.

The Governor of the State of South Carolina is Nikki Haley.

Harvest Festival and Block Party

October 25 on East Montague from 4pm until after dark, the Harvest Festival and Block Party features live musical performances, art and craft booths, costume contests and children's activities.


City of North Charleston | Copyright © 2014 | All rights reserved. | Site Map | Connect | Employee Directory

Web Design by BlueKey in Charleston, SC