Home / Residents / Police and Public Safety / Divisions and Bureaus

Divisions and Bureaus

Office of the Chief of Police

The Office of the Chief of Police consists of : Public Information/Community Relations, Office of Professional Standards, and Accreditation. For more information, call (843) 740-2831 or email Spencer Pryor.

Support Services

The Support Services Bureau, under the direction of Assistant Police Chief Reggie Burgess, consists of the Administrative Services Unit, the Police Technology Coordinator, and Quartermaster Liaison and are responsible for the accommodation of the needs of the Police Department concerning vehicles and supplies, budget activities, management and distribution of uniforms and non-technological personal equipment; and the implementation of new technologies to enhance the department's ability to carry out its mission.. For more information, call (843) 740-2845 or email Bureau Commander Captain Terrell Palmer.

Uniform Patrol Division

The Uniform Patrol Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Scott Deckard, oversees the day-to-day activities of the department's largest contingent of officers. The Uniform Patrol Division consists of three Patrol Bureaus (South, Central and North). Through these Bureaus, the department provides basic patrol services, traffic safety, crime prevention, education, and other community initiatives. For more information, call (843) 740-2825 or email Deputy Chief Scott Deckard, or Captain Joyce Smith (South), Captain Joe Stephens (Central). Ken Hagge (North).

Investigations Division

The Investigations Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief David Cheatle, is responsible for the identification and follow up of crimes, crime analysis, collection and preservation of evidence, school security, neighborhood relations, victim advocacy, and departmental training.  The Detective Bureau is divided into two sections:  Investigative Section and Investigative Support Section.  The Investigative Section includes the following units:  Fraud and Forgery; Persons Crime; and Property Crime.  The section also supervises officers assigned to the A.T.F. Task Force, U.S. Attorney's Office, and Secret Service Task Force.  The Investigative Support Sections includes the following units:  Forensic; Property and Evidence; Gang Intervention Team; and Crime Analysis.

The Special Investigative Bureau includes the following units:  School Resource Officers; Special Victims Unit (Juvenile crimes); Victim Advocates; Neighborhood Resource Officers; Training; Reserve Officers; and Cadet program. 

For more information, call (843) 740-2861 or email Deputy Chief David Cheatle, Captain Scott Perry (Detective Bureau), or Captain Patrick Nathan (Special Investigative Bureau).

Special Operations Division

The Special Operations Division, under the direction of Deputy Chief Coyle Kinard, is responsible for the identifying and investigating or organized crimes such as:  Narcotics, Vice and Drug money laundering.  The Division has a broad array of other specialized services, including Intelligence Led investigations, Dignitary Protection, Major Accident investigations, Harbor Patrol, and Information Services which includes Records, Duty Officers, and the Holiding Facility. For more information, call (843) 740-2800 or email Deputy Chief Coyle Kinard or Captain Delmar Johnson (Special Enforcement Bureau), Captain Karen Cordray (Information Services Bureau).


City of North Charleston | Copyright © 2017 | All rights reserved. | Site Map | Online Services | Employee Directory

Web Design by BlueKey in Charleston, SC